Ajit Agarkar applies for national selector’s job, front-runner for chairman’s post – cricket

Former India pacer Ajit Agarkar on Friday entered the race for the national selector’s job and is a frontrunner for the chairman’s post. Agarkar, who’s a former chairman of Mumbai senior choice committee, is in competition for the chairman’s post as the brand new structure doesn’t have provisions for zonal system.

Also Read: Rohit’s catch at boundary ropes leaves Auckland crowd in awe - WATCH

With BCCI setting January 24 because the deadline for sending purposes, the 42-year-previous Agarkar is actually the post excessive-profile identify with 26 Tests, 191 ODIs and three T20 Internationals, choosing 349 wickets throughout codecs.

Agarkar stays India’s third highest wicket-taker in ODIs (with 288 scalps) behind Anil Kumble (334 wickets) and Javagal Srinath (315 wickets). One of the quickest bowlers throughout his time, Agarkar was quickest to 50 wickets, reaching the feat in solely 23 video games.

Also Read: Raina gives clarity on Dhoni’s comeback plans ahead of IPL

“Ajit entering the fray is an interesting development. He is someone who would have put in a lot of thought before applying. If anyone thought that Siva’s nomination as a chairman of selectors is a given will now think again. It will be every interesting to see who all are short-listed,” a senior BCCI official stated.

With West Zone’s Jatin Paranjpe nonetheless having a yr left, will BCCI accommodate two national selectors from Mumbai in case Agarkar manages to impress the but to be shaped Cricket Advisory Committee.

“The BCCI president Sourav Ganguly on the first day had spoken about transparency. If the intent is correct and the heart is in right place, why do we need to have zonal biases and follow the convention?” the official requested.

Also Read: ‘Seeing another superstar arrive’: Ex-Kiwi stumper lauds India batsman

Apart from Agarkar and Sivaramakrishnan, the opposite outstanding names to have utilized embrace Nayan Mongia, Chetan Sharma, Rajesh Chauhan.

List of notable former cricketers who’ve utilized: Ajit Agarkar (Mumbai), Chetan Sharma (Haryana), Nayan Mongia (Baroda), Laxman Sivaramakrishnan (Tamil Nadu), Rajesh Chauhan (Madhya Pradesh), Amey Khurasiya (Madhya Pradesh), Gyanendra Pandey (UP, not eligible as accomplished four years as JR selector), Pritam Gandhe (Vidarbha, has already served time period as Jr Natl selector).

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *