ECB asks 55 players, including Eoin Morgan, Jofra Archer, to resume training
By: PTI | London |

Published: May 29, 2020 5:34:37 pm

The ECB has added 37 names to the listing after 18 bowlers resumed particular person training final week. (Source: Reuters)

World Cup-winning skipper Eoin Morgan, and the tempo duo of James Anderson and Jofra Archer are amongst 55 England gamers who’ve been requested to resume outside training to put together for cricket behind closed doorways amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has added 37 names to the listing after 18 bowlers resumed particular person training final week, focussing on Test cricket.

Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, and Joe Clarke are some large names who don’t function within the 55-man listing in the intervening time.

The ECB confirmed that the gamers have been requested to return to training, “as England Men prepare for the prospect of behind-closed-doors cricket, subject to UK Government clearance.”

The Board stated it continues to work intently with its county companions to present a protected and environment friendly return to follow for gamers.

Other large names who’ve been requested to resume training embody Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Adil Rashid, Tom Curran, David Willey, and Sam Billings amongst others.

The ECB stated squads for particular codecs will likely be introduced sooner or later.

“The pool of players will give selectors strong options when it comes to selecting squads across formats further down the line, as we move closer to our aim of playing international cricket this summer,” ECB Performance Director Mo Bobat stated in a press release.

“We will need to continue to work closely with our medical team and government to ensure that our return to training and play activities are in line with best-practice guidelines,” he added.

List of gamers: Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Tom Banton (Somerset), Dom Bess (Somerset), Sam Billings (Kent), James Bracey (Gloucestershire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Henry Brookes (Warwickshire), Pat Brown (Worcestershire), Rory Burns (Surrey), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Brydon Carse (Durham), Mason Crane (Hampshire), Zak Crawley (Kent), Sam Curran (Surrey), Tom Curran (Surrey), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Joe Denly (Kent), Ben Duckett (Nottinghamshire), Laurie Evans (Sussex), Ben Foakes (Surrey), Richard Gleeson (Lancashire), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Sam Hain (Warwickshire), Tom Helm (Middlesex), Will Jacks (Surrey), Keaton Jennings (Lancashire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Tom Kohler-Cadmore (Yorkshire), Dan Lawrence (Essex), Jack Leach (Somerset), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Craig Overton (Somerset), Jamie Overton (Somerset), Matt Parkinson (Lancashire), Ollie Pope (Surrey), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Ollie Robinson (Sussex), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Phil Salt (Sussex), Dom Sibley (Warwickshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Olly Stone (Warwickshire), Reece Topley (Surrey), James Vince (Hampshire), Amar Virdi (Surrey), David Willey (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham).

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and keep up to date with the most recent headlines

For all the most recent Sports News, obtain Indian Express App.

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *