Faf Du Plessis, Kagiso Rabada back in South African squad against Australia – cricket

Former captain Faf du Plessis and quick bowler Kagiso Rabada will return to the South African squad for a 3-match Twenty20 sequence against Australia, beginning on the Wanderers Stadium on Friday.

Du Plessis, who introduced earlier on Monday that he was stepping down from the captaincy, is a part of a 16-man squad to be captained by Quinton de Kock.

Both Du Plessis and Rabada have been rested from one-day and T20 sequence against England following a Test sequence between the edges which ended final month.

Fast bowler Anrich Nortje, considered one of South Africa’s successes in a shedding Test sequence, has additionally been included in the squad named by Cricket South Africa on Monday.

Independent selector Linda Zondi stated the inclusion of Rabada and Nortje would increase the staff’s bowling following a 2-1 defeat by England in a sequence which ended on Sunday.

READ: ‘India has the best fast bowling line-up but…’: Waugh on Bumrah & Co

“The T20 series may not have been won but it was really pleasing to see our batting unit play so well,” stated Zondi, who added that the return of Du Plessis would add an additional dimension to the batting.

Temba Bavuma’s choice relies on a scan of his proper hamstring after he was injured throughout Sunday’s last match against England.

South African squad: Quinton de Kock (capt, wkt), Temba Bavuma, Faf du Plessis, Bjorn Fortuin, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts, Dale Steyn, Pite van Biljon, Rassie van der Dussen.

Twenty20 worldwide sequence fixtures:

February 21, Johannesburg

February 23, Port Elizabeth

February 26, Cape Town

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *