Faf du Plessis, Kagiso Rabada recalled to South Africa squad for T20Is against Australia
By: Reuters | Cape Town |

Published: February 17, 2020 7:21:28 pm

Faf du Plessis on Monday introduced he could be standing down as captain throughout all three codecs. (File Photo)

South Africa have recalled batsman Faf du Plessis and quick bowler Kagiso Rabada for the three-match Twenty20 International residence sequence against Australia that begins on Friday.

Du Plessis, who earlier on Monday introduced he could be standing down as captain across all three formats, and Rabada had been rested for the One-Day International and Twenty20 sequence against England over the previous few weeks. Also included is quick bowler Anrich Nortje, however in-form opening batsman Temba Bavuma can have to show his health after injuring his hamstring against England on Sunday.

The trio come into the aspect within the place of Reeza Hendricks, Beuran Hendricks and Sisanda Magala. “We are confident that the return of Kagiso and Anrich will provide the boost that the bowling unit needs in order to return to its dangerous ways and that the experience of Faf will add an extra dimension to the batting unit’s already fledgling prowess,” Independent Selector Linda Zondi stated in an announcement from Cricket South Africa on Monday.

There is not any return but for AB de Villiers, who’s in talks with South Africa coach Mark Boucher about popping out of worldwide retirement forward of the Twenty20 World Cup in Australia in October.

Boucher has stated that if De Villiers performs the matches they need him to, and is in type, he’ll make the squad. “I have had chats with him and we will probably know pretty soon what’s going to happen with him,” Boucher instructed reporters.

“If AB is in good form and he is raring to go, and he makes himself available for the time we have asked him to be available, if he is the best man for the job then he must go.”

The sequence against Australia begins in Johannesburg on Friday, earlier than transferring to Port Elizabeth on Sunday and eventually Cape Town on Feb. 26. The sides will then conflict in three ODI matches.

Squad: Quinton de Kock (captain), Temba Bavuma, Faf du Plessis, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Pite van Biljon, Dwaine Pretorius, Andile Phehlukwayo, Jon-Jon Smuts, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi, Bjorn Fortuin, Anrich Nortje, Dale Steyn, Heinrich Klaasen

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and keep up to date with the most recent headlines

For all the most recent Sports News, obtain Indian Express App.

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *