‘Front runner’ Ajit Agarkar still in-line to be selector in next term – Report – cricket

Former India left-arm spinner, Sunil Joshi was chosen chief cricket selector and he’ll succeed ex-India stumper MSK Prasad for the put up on Wednesday with Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) having pressured on the flexibility to talk nicely with the India crew administration in its picks.

However, this led to plenty of raised eyebrows because the BCCI went forward with its zonal coverage whereas shortlisting candidates for the 2 posts in the senior choice committee. As per a report in Times of India, likes of Ajit Agarkar, Nayan Mongia and Maninder Singh, who missed out on the job won’t have to reapply when the phrases of Jatin Paranjpe, Devang Gandhi and Sarandeep Singh ends in September.

ALSO READ: Sunil Joshi – All you need to know about the new BCCI chief selector

BCCI president Sourav Ganguly confirmed to TOI that the appliance of Agarkar will be thought of when the next spherical of interviews will be held. The former India and Mumbai pacer was thought of to be a prime contender to grow to be the chief selector, however then, BCCI went again to the zonal system and this put Sunil Joshi in pole place. Also, since Jatin Paranjape already represents Mumbai, Agarkar missed out. The next bunch of selectors will assume workplace after the T20 World Cup in November.

“When the new selectors are brought in, the experience in international cricket will be re-evaluated and the chairman of the selectors could be appointed accordingly,” a supply was as quoted by Times of India.

“It was earlier decided that the best candidates should be interviewed. Even the new constitution says so. But later, a section of the BCCI contested that it would result in ignoring a zone altogether,” a senior BCCI official advised TOI. “You can’t jump to a conclusion that the players from the Central Zone can’t be good selectors. It would have set a bad precedent,” the official added.

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *