ICC Awards 2019: Rohit Sharma named ODI player of the year, Ben Stokes chosen world player of the year – cricket

After a shocking year in each Test and ODI cricket, England all-rounder Ben Stokes has gained the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the world player of the year. Stokes, who stored his nerve to smash an unbeaten 84 in the closing towards New Zealand, amassed 719 runs and bagged 12 wickets in 20 ODIs throughout the voting interval. He was sensational in Test cricket as properly – the all-rounder scored 821 runs and took 22 wickets in 11 Tests. The spotlight of this year was an unbeaten 135 to win a nail-biting Ashes thriller in Leeds.

“It is quite flattering to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year. The past 12 months have been incredible for England cricket and to lift the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup for the first time was our greatest achievement,” mentioned Ben Stokes after bagging the award.

Australia tempo spearhead Pat Cummins bagged the Test Player of the Year award whereas India opener and vice-captain in restricted-overs cricket Rohit Sharma gained the ODI Player of the Year in different main males’s ICC awards. Young India seamer Deepak Chahar gained the T20I Performance of the Year, whereas Australia’s younger batting sensation Marnus Labuschagne was named the Emerging Cricketer of the Year. Scotland’s Kyle Coetzer is the Associate Cricketer of the Year.

“I would like to thank the ICC for giving me this award and the BCCI for giving me the opportunity to represent the country. It is great to be recognised in this fashion. We are very happy with the way we performed as a team in 2019. We could have done better but we have a lot of positives and a lot to look forward to in 2020,” Rohit Sharma mentioned after receiving the honour.

ALSO READ: MCC wants Tests to remain five-day affairs

ICC Chief Executive Manu Sawhney congratulated the winners of the awards this year and wished all of them the finest for the future.

“On behalf of the ICC, I wish to congratulate all of the particular person 2019 award winners in addition to these gamers named in the ICC Teams of the Year.

“The awards rejoice the world’s finest cricketers and this has undoubtedly been a rare year for males’s cricket. The spotlight of course was the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 that resulted in such dramatic style. Ben Stokes was, of course in the midst of all the motion throughout the occasion from that fairly unimaginable catch at the Oval proper by to that epic closing at Lord’s and is a really deserving winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy.”

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *