IND vs NZ 2nd T20I: India aim to extend lead, New Zealand look for redemption
By: Sports Desk |

Updated: January 26, 2020 9:57:59 am

Manish Pandy and Shreyas Iyer have a good time through the first T20I match between India and New Zealand. (AP Photo)

After securing a powerful six-wicket win over New Zealand in the opening encounter, Team India would look to extend their benefit within the five-match T20I sequence, when each the groups lock horns within the second conflict in Auckland on Sunday. Led by some trendy batting by opener KL Rahul and middle-order specialist Shreyas Iyer, the Men In Blue chased down a big 204 to end the competition with six deliveries to spare.

The batting was splendid but it surely was the bowlers and the fielding normal that allowed New Zealand to submit a mammoth totat on the board. Keeping the bowling division into consideration, just a few modifications within the setup shouldn’t come as a shock within the second encounter of the five-match sequence.

READ | The strokes that took the breath away at Eden Park

India’s bowling possibility

Jasprit Bumrah, who has simply returned from a again damage, was the one bowler from either side to concede lower than eight runs per over on the peculiarly formed floor with quick boundaries.

Shradul Thakur scalped a wicket however he gave away 44 runs within the three overs he bowled, Mohammad Shami, alternatively, went wicketless and conceded 53 runs in his 4 overs quota, which additionally included a 22-run over.

With Navdeep Saini not that includes within the opening encounter, it’s extremely doubtless that one out of the 2 would make means for the 27-year-old within the taking part in XI.

Meanwhile, Shivam Dube chipped in with three essential overs within the earlier encounter and the spin duo of Yuzvendra Chahal and Ravindra Jadeja conceded 50/2 within the six overs they bowled, might tempt the crew administration choose for an additional spin possibility for the conflict on Sunday.

Kuldeep Yadav and Washington Sundar are the opposite two spin choices India have of their camp. Additionally, Chahal and Kuldeep are but to play collectively for the reason that ODI World Cup. With the batting bearing a settled look, the crew administration is perhaps eager to take a punt on their reunion.

READ | India, New Zealand combine to create history in T20I cricket

Kohli on fielding requirements

Kohli, as ordinary, was good within the discipline, however the crew couldn’t match the fielding normal the Indian skipper calls for for. Yuzvendra Chahal and Shradul Thakur, particularly, weren’t on their greatest, because the spinner appeared misplaced and missed a few possibilities. During the 14th and 16th over, Chahal missed two possibilities of dismissing Kiwi skipper Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor respectively.

Kohli additionally lamented about the missed chances on the sector and asserted that that is one specific space the place the crew wants to work on. “I think fielding is one thing that we can improve on, just getting used to the ground dimensions and the ball snaking a bit,” the Indian skipper stated through the post-match presentation ceremony.

Kiwis aim to bounce again

After getting off to a strong begin with 91/1 on the finish of 10 overs, the hosts misplaced their rhythm, dropping a few wickets in fast intervals. However, an attacking strategy by Williamson and Taylor did get the Kiwis again on the monitor however the hosts certainly missed out on including 10-15 further runs to their complete.

READ | We’ve to be more aggressive with the ball against India: Sodhi 

While the Indian batsmen coming on the crease had been in a position to preserve the momentum generated by the highest order, the hosts failed to do the identical, thus serving to Kohli & co. get again into the competition. The hosts would additionally hope the likes of Colin de Grandhomme and Tim Seifert to come good within the second encounter.


India: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul (wk), Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Washington Sundar. PTI CN

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Scott Kuggeleijn, Colin Munro, Colin de Grandhomme, Tom Bruce, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Hamish Bennett, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner.

Match begins at: 12.20pm IST.

For all the most recent Sports News, obtain Indian Express App

© IE Online Media Services Pvt Ltd

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *