India vs Australia: Rohit Sharma leaves behind Sourav Ganguly and Sachin Tendulkar in illustrious ODI list – cricket

Rohit Sharma had a beautiful 2019 the place he was a stalwart for India in restricted overs cricket. The quantity of runs he scored in 2019 even landed him an ICC ODI Player of the Year award. He did not get going in the primary ODI in opposition to Australia however regarded in sensible contact in the course of the second ODI encounter in Rajkot. However, he was undone by a supply from Adam Zampa as he returned to the pavilion after scoring 42 and in consequence, he fell 4 runs in need of attaining a significant milestone.

READ | Why Indian team members are wearing black arm bands?

However, Rohit didn’t look forward to lengthy to succeed in the landmark as he grew to become the third quickest batsman to succeed in 9000 ODI runs when he reached the rating of 5 in the course of the collection decider in Bengaluru on Sunday.

Rohit beat the likes of Sourav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar and Brian Lara with regards to scoring 9000 runs in ODIs. The opener reached 9000 runs in 217 innings, leaving behind Ganguly (228 innings), Tendulkar (235 innings) and Lara (239 innings).

The batsman who was the quickest to succeed in 9000 runs in ODIs was India skipper Virat Kohli who achieved the feat in 194 runs and he’s adopted by South Africa batsman AB de Villiers (205 innings).

Australia have posted a rating of 286/9 with Steve Smith scoring 131 runs.

READ | ‘Unfair, not logical’ – Former Australia batsman slams Rishabh Pant snub in 3rd ODI

India bounced again brilliantly from their loss in the primary ODI as they defeated Australia by 36 runs in Rajkot to stage the collection 1-1. Shikhar Dhawan scored a superb 96 whereas KL Rahul and Kohli contributed with half centuries as India posted a mammoth whole of 340.

In response, Navdeep Saini took three wickets and Kuldeep Yadav took two because the hosts had been in a position to defend their whole fairly comfortably. Steve Smith did look in good contact however he was finally dismissed by Kuldeep for 98 which spelt the tip for his or her fightback in the intently-contested encounter.

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *