India vs New Zealand T20I series: Fast bowler Hamish Bennett recalled to Kiwi squad
By: PTI | Wellington |

Updated: January 16, 2020 9:31:40 am

Hamish Bennett, New Zealand bowler Hamish Bennett, India vs New Zealand T20I series, Hamish Bennett in India vs New Zealand series, India in New Zealand 2020 Injuries to Trent Boult, Matt Henry and Lockie Ferguson have led to Bennett’s inclusion to the Kiwi squad.

Hamish Bennett has been recalled to New Zealand’s squad for the primary time in nearly three years for the five-match Twenty20 collection towards India due to accidents to Trent Boult, Matt Henry and Lockie Ferguson.

The 32-year-old Bennett has not performed for New Zealand since a one-day worldwide towards Bangladesh in 2017. He has but to play a Twenty20 worldwide.

Boult (hand), Henry (thumb) and Ferguson (calf) had been all injured in New Zealand’s 3-Zero check collection loss to Australia. “We’re delighted to have Hamish back in the fold for what will be a huge series against India,” selector Gavin Larsen stated in a press release on Thursday.

“We all know he brings good pace and bounce but it’s the clever variations he’s added that make him such a well-rounded T20 bowler.” Captain Kane Williamson returns to the Twenty20 squad after he missed the collection towards England in November due to a hip damage whereas batsman Tom Bruce and all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme will share the collection.

De Grandhomme will play the primary two video games in Auckland and third in Hamilton, with Bruce out there for the matches in Wellington and Mt. Maunganui.

All-rounder Jimmy Neesham, who suffered a thigh damage in home Twenty20 matches, has additionally missed out on the squad however has been named in a New Zealand A facet to play India A in three one-day matches.

The first match of the Twenty20 collection is at Eden Park on Jan. 24, with the ultimate sport in Mt. Maunganui on Feb. 2 earlier than a three-match one-day collection and two checks.

New Zealand Twenty20 squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Hamish Bennett, Tom Bruce (video games 4-5), Colin de Grandhomme (video games 1-3), Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.

The Indian Express Sports is now on Telegram. For extra information, movies and podcasts, subscribe to Indian Express Sports on Telegram.

For all the newest Sports News, obtain Indian Express App

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *