India vs South Africa: South Africa announce squad for ODI series against India, Faf du Plessis returns – cricket

South Africa have recalled prime-order batsmen Faf du Plessis and Rassie van der Dussen for their three-match One-Day International tour of India later this month, whereas left-arm spinner George Linde is called within the squad for the primary time. Du Plessis and Van der Dussen had been rested for the on-going three-match dwelling sequence against Australia, the place South Africa lead 1-zero after a thumping 74-run victory within the opener on Saturday.

Linde, 28, has impressed in home 50-over cricket this season, and performed a single take a look at in India final October the place he took match figures of 4-133 in Ranchi, his solely worldwide look to this point.

ALSO READ: Can’t single out Rishabh Pant, batting unit failed collectively – Virat Kohli

He takes the place of leg-spinner Tabraiz Shamsi, who isn’t obtainable for the brief tour as a result of imminent start of his first youngster. Keshav Maharaj is the opposite frontline spinner within the squad.

“It is exciting to see the amount of competition for spots that we have within the team and in the (domestic) franchises, it’s a good headache for us as selectors to have,” Cricket South Africa impartial selector Linda Zondi mentioned in a media launch on Monday.

“We are satisfied with our picks for what will certainly be a challenging tour of India. We are also particularly pleased with the balance of youth and experience that we have achieved while our young leadership group continues to establish itself.”

The squad shall be captained by Quinton de Kock and play the primary ODI in Dharamsala in Mar. 12. That shall be adopted by a match in Lucknow three days later, earlier than the sequence finale in Kolkata on Mar. 18.

Squad: Quinton de Kock (captain), Temba Bavuma, Rassie van der Dussen, Faf du Plessis, Kyle Verreynne, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Jon-Jon Smuts, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lundi Ngidi, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Anrich Nortje, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj.

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *