Indian women qualify for 2021 World Cup after points split with Pakistan
Written by Shamik Chakrabarty
| Kolkata |

Updated: April 15, 2020 10:29:42 pm

India womens cricket, india womens odi world cup, womens odi world cup, team india odi world cup, cricket news, sports news India have entered top-four with 23 points. (AP)

India have instantly certified for the subsequent yr’s Women’s World Cup after the sport’s international physique split points between India and Pakistan within the ICC Women’s Championship. The ICC Women’s Championship Technical Committee (TC) invoked the Force Majeure clause, because it accepted the BCCI’s argument that India couldn’t play the bilateral sequence towards Pakistan as a result of the Indian board didn’t get the federal government clearance.

After the equal points sharing, India have entered top-four with 23 points, securing a direct entry to the 2021 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup, to be performed in New Zealand from February 6 to March 7, 2021. Australia (37), England (29) and South Africa (25), too, have instantly certified for the showpiece occasion.

Top 4 groups within the ICC Women’s Championship, alongside with hosts New Zealand, are entitled to direct qualification. Ten groups will combat for the three remaining locations, on the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier, scheduled to be performed in Sri Lanka from July 3-19. This, nonetheless, is topic to assessment due of the Covid-19 pandemic.

“With respect to the India v Pakistan series, the TC concluded that the series could not be played because of a Force Majeure event after the BCCI demonstrated that it was unable to obtain the necessary government clearances to allow India to participate in the bilateral series against Pakistan, which forms a part of the ICC Women’s Championship,” an ICC launch acknowledged.

The India-Pakistan sequence was scheduled within the sixth spherical of the competitors, between July and November 2019. All eight groups within the ICC Women’s Championship have been to play one another in a three-match sequence in the course of the 2017-2020 cycle. During the earlier cycle, Pakistan had been awarded full points by the Technical Committee, when India forfeited their matches.

Meanwhile, two different ICC Women’s Championship sequence have been cancelled because of the Covid-19 outbreak – South Africa versus Australia and Sri Lanka versus New Zealand. The Technical Committee determined that the groups will share points in these two sequence as nicely.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and keep up to date with the most recent headlines

For all the most recent Sports News, obtain Indian Express App.

© IE Online Media Services Pvt Ltd

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *