Injuries force New Zealand to opt for new-look pace attack for ODIs against India
By: PTI | Wellington |

Published: January 30, 2020 10:32:47 am

Hamish Bennett took three wickets within the third T20I regardless of the 27-run over (Source: AP)

Injuries to frontline quick bowlers have compelled New Zealand to opt for recent blood of their pace attack for the three-match ODI collection against India beginning February 5 in Hamilton.

Kyle Jamieson might be in for a possible debut, whereas Scott Kuggeleijn and Hamish Bennett return to the squad after a protracted absence. Injury has meant the likes of Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson and Matt Henry are unavailable for the collection.

The Black Caps will depend on Tim Southee’s expertise, whereas Colin de Grandhomme returns to the squad after being ignored for the final two T20Is. Jimmy Neesham and Mitchell Santner would be the all-round choices.

Meanwhile, Ish Sodhi has been included within the squad for solely the primary ODI in Hamilton. He will probably be launched for the second unofficial ‘Test’ between India A and New Zealand A in Christchurch on February 7.

Coach Gary Stead stated his group was conscious of the duty at hand and seemed up to his batsmen to step up.

“We’ve seen from the Twenty20 series (India) are clearly as strong as ever,” Stead stated.

“While the bowling line-up has a recent look, the batting could be very settled and we’ll possible have the identical high eight batsmen from the World Cup finals.

“Tim Southee has an essential job main our new-look pace attack, which has an enormous alternative against a few of the absolute best batsmen on the earth.

This is the primary ODI collection for New Zealand since their notorious ‘loss’ within the 2019 World Cup ultimate.

ALSO READ | Miandad x 2: Rohit Sharma brings back memories of Pak legend’s famous Sharjah heroics

New Zealand path the continued five-match T20 International collection against India 0-3.

ODI squad: Kane Williamson (capt), Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tom Latham, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi (1st ODI), Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

For all the newest Sports News, obtain Indian Express App

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *