Jasprit Bumrah top contender for BCCI’s Arjuna award nomination, Shikhar Dhawan also in line
By: PTI | New Delhi |

Published: May 13, 2020 7:06:09 pm

Jasprit bumrah, Jasprit bumrah bowling, Jasprit bumrah injury, india vs sri lanka, india vs sri lanka squad, ind vs aus, ind vs aus 2020, ind vs aus squad, ind vs aus odi squad 2020, Jasprit Bumrah was nominated final 12 months as nicely however misplaced out to Ravindra Jadeja. (File Photo/PTI)

India’s tempo spearhead Jasprit Bumrah is anticipated to be the BCCI nomination for the celebrated Arjuna Award this 12 months after lacking out on seniority to Ravindra Jadeja in 2019.

The BCCI office-bearers are anticipated to zero in on nominations for the lads’s and ladies’s classes later this month however the Gujarat pacer’s stupendous efficiency in the final 4 years makes him essentially the most worthy candidate.

If BCCI decides to ship a number of names in the lads’s class, senior opener Shikhar Dhawan may also be most popular as he missed out in 2018 regardless of the Board sending his nomination.

“Last 12 months, we had despatched three names in males’s part — Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami,” a BCCI supply instructed PTI.

Bumrah misplaced out as he had accomplished solely two years in worldwide cricket whereas the factors of choice requires efficiency of not less than three years on the highest degree.

“That’s why Bumrah, who completed three years of international cricket last year, missed out to Jadeja, who is senior as well as a consistent performer for many years,” the supply added.

The 26-year-old has 68 wickets from 14 Tests, 104 wickets from 64 ODIs and 59 wickets from 50 T20Is, making for an outstanding 4 years in India colors.

“He actually has the most effective credentials. He was ICC’s No 1 ranked ODI bowler. He is the one Asian bowler to choose up five-wicket hauls in South Africa, England, Australia and West Indies,” the supply stated.

It is extremely unlikely that BCCI will ship Mohammed Shami’s identify this time round because the police case filed towards him by his estranged spouse alleging home violence and adultery signifies that he gained’t be eligible.

In case of Dhawan, his seniority is an element as all his contemporaries (Virat Kohli, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara and Jadeja) have gotten the award.

Dhawan was, nevertheless, out of motion for a substantial interval final 12 months after sustaining a number of accidents.

But a former BCCI office-bearer stated that Dhawan’s seniority can’t be ignored.

“In 2018, we had sent Dhawan’s name for nomination but only Smriti (Mandhana) got the award. So BCCI can send both Bumrah and Dhawan’s names,” he stated.

In the ladies’s part, all-rounder Deepti Sharma, for her constant present over the previous 4 years together with India’s highest ODI rating of 188, is among the names together with pacer Shikha Pandey, who’s also a Squadron Leader with the Indian Airforce.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and keep up to date with the newest headlines

For all the newest Sports News, obtain Indian Express App.

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *