KXIP set to acquire St Lucia franchise of Caribbean Premier League – cricket

Kings XI Punjab is set to acquire the St Lucia franchise of the Caribbean Premier League, changing into the second IPL crew to personal a CPL outfit after Kolkata Knight Riders.

“We are about to sign an agreement to be part of CPL. We are getting the St Lucia franchise. The structure and name of the company will only be communicated after we get BCCI’s approval,” KXIP co-proprietor Ness Wadia advised PTI on Monday.

“Mohit Burman (co-owner) is in the Caribbean at the moment to sign the agreement. We want to especially thank the Prime Minister of St Lucia Allan Chastanet and Tourism Minister Dominic Fedde for making this possible. We have been pursuing this for almost nine months,” added Wadia.

St Lucia Zouks is one of the six groups competing within the CPL. The crew is led by former West Indies captain Darren Sammy.

Another Indian Premier League franchise Kolkata Knight Riders had acquired Trinbago Knight Riders in 2015. It is essentially the most profitable CPL franchise until date, having gained three titles.

St Lucia’s finest efficiency until date got here in 2016 when it completed fourth.

The Caribbean Premier League, which started in 2013, is among the many established T20 leagues on the planet.

Pete Russell, Chief Operating Officer of the Hero CPL, mentioned: “We are massively excited to welcome this possession crew to the CPL household and we’re trying ahead to seeing the place they take the Zouks in the course of the upcoming season and past.

“They carry with them a wealth of expertise which is incredible information for each the CPL and St Lucia as a complete.” St Lucia Prime Minister Chastanet additionally welcomed the event.

“I welcome the new owners of the Saint Lucia Zouks and hope that their new energy and drive will inspire the team to excel,” mentioned Chastanet.

“Saint Lucians continue to root for the Zouks and we are encouraged by the confidence that Mr. Mohit Burman and his team have placed in the players and Saint Lucia,” he added.

The 2020 CPL shall be held from August 19 to September 26.

IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore’s former proprietor Vijay Mallya had misplaced possession of CPL crew Barbados Tridents final 12 months.

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *