NZ A post 276/5 against India A on day one of 2nd unofficial Test – cricket

India A bowlers struck at common intervals however center-order batsman Glenn Phillips’ positive half-century guided New Zealand A to 276 for 5 on the opening day of the second unofficial Test right here on Friday.

Phillips smashed 9 fours and a six in his 80-ball 65, whereas Dane Cleaver (46 not out off 115 balls) and skipper Hamish Rutherford (40 off 79 balls) additionally chipped in with helpful contributions after the hosts received the toss and determined to bat.

For India, medium pacers Mohammed Siraj (2/58) and Avesh Khan (2/57) took a pair of wickets every, whereas spinner Shahbaz Nadeem additionally snapped one scalp.

At the draw of stumps, Daryl Mitchell (36 not out) was giving firm to Cleaver at Bert Sutcliffe Oval.

New Zealand A made a great begin as openers Rutherford and Will Young (26 off 101 balls) shared a 67-run partnership however Siraj then had the skipper caught behind by Srikar Bharat to strike the primary blow.

New man in Rachin Ravindra (12 off 9) blasted three fours earlier than changing into the second sufferer of Siraj, who cleaned up the batsman within the 28th over.

Phillips then joined Young and the duo took the workforce previous the 100-mark earlier than the opener was foxed by a Nadeem supply and was stumped within the 34th over.

Phillips and Tim Seifert (30) then added 76 runs to elevate the Kiwis to 181.

But New Zealand A misplaced two fast wickets with Avesh putting twice in fast succession, eradicating Phillips and Seifert to depart the hosts at 190 for five within the 57th over.

New batsmen Cleaver and Mitchell (36 not out) got here collectively to resurrect the New Zealand innings, forging an unfinished 86 run partnership.

While Cleaver struck 5 hits to the fence, Mitchell set the ball previous the boundary line thrice and in addition hit a six in his unbeaten 97-ball innings.

The opening unofficial Test between the 2 sides had led to a draw.

Brief Score: New Zealand A: 276 for five in 90 overs (Glenn Phillips 65; Avesh Khan 2/57, Mohammed Siraj 2/58).

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *