Ranji Trophy semis: Bengal take control, Chintan Gaja leads Gujarat’s fightback
By: PTI |

Published: March 2, 2020 6:29:20 pm

Abhimanyu Mithun scalps 4 wickets in opposition to Bengal within the second innings of the semifinal. (Source: Twitter/BCCIdomestic)

Hosts Bengal tightened their grip over the Ranji Trophy semifinal by decreasing Karnataka to 98/Three after setting them a stiff 352-run goal on day Three of the competition, in Kolkata on Monday.

Resuming the day at 72/4, Bengal may handle simply 161 however the huge 190-run first-innings lead meant that Karnataka now have a mountain to climb. Anustup Majumdar, who staged a fourth rescue-act this season with an unbeaten 149 within the first innings, hit a combative 41 in Bengal’s second innings amid one more batting collapse.

Bengal, who gained their earlier Ranji title throughout Sourav Ganguly’s debut season in 1989-90, would go for the kill to make their first last in 13 years. They had misplaced to Mumbai by 132 runs of their final last look in 2007.

Karnataka have already misplaced their top-order they usually have to provide a superlative batting effort to attain the required 254 runs within the remaining two days of the match.

KL Rahul (0) was dismissed by a peach of a supply by the first-innings hero Ishan Porel. Fresh from three half-centuries and one century within the limited-overs sequence in New Zealand, Rahul supplied no shot and selected to depart the supply outdoors the road however it swung in sharply to have him plumb in entrance. As Karnataka misplaced their star participant within the second ball of their innings with the scorecard studying zero, the 21-year-old pacer was thumping his chest in jubilation.

On a pitch which has slowed down and ball has turned tender, Karnataka duo of R Samarth and Paddikal put up a 57-run partnership after the autumn of Rahul. Bengal broke the partnership overturning the umpire’s resolution with a profitable overview from the bowling of Akash Deep who had Samarth plumb in entrance. Mukesh Kumar dismissed Karun Nair (6) as all of the three pacer had a share of 1 wicket every on the shut of day three. The 19-year-old Padikkal remained unbeaten on 50 in firm of Manish Pandey (11).

Earlier, Sudip Chatterjee (45) was Bengal’s high scorer of their second innings, whereas Majumdar and all-rounder Shahbaz Ahmed (31) continued their nice type in a 61-run partnership to prop up their total lead after a well-known top-order collapse.

Mithun bagged 4/23 and was their most spectacular bowler, whereas Ronit More (2/56) dismissed Chatterjee and Shreevats Goswami off successive deliveries.

Majumdar was initially fortunate and survived on 10 overturning a choice with profitable overview. An inside edge narrowly missed the stump when he was on 21. But he broke free within the subsequent ball with back-to-back boundaries pulling More, whereas Shahbaz additionally received into rhythm because the duo annoyed the Karnataka bowlers.

Krishnappa Gowtham (3/15) gave the breakthrough dismissing Ahmed and Bengal innings folded in 34 balls after lunch.

Brief Scores:

Bengal 312 and 161; 54.Four overs (Sudip Chatterjee 45, Anustup Majumdar 41, Shahbaz Ahmed 31; Abhimanyu Mithun 4/23, Krishnappa Gowtham 3/15).

Karnataka 122 and 98/3; 38 overs (Devdutt Paddikkal 50 batting).

Gaja leads Gujarat’s fightback after conceding first-innings lead 

Medium-pacer Chintan Gaja grabbed a fifer to guide Gujarat’s fight-back after they conceded a 52-run first-innings lead in opposition to Saurashtra on day Three of their Ranji Trophy semi-final in Rajkot on Monday. Gaja (5/15) lowered Saurashtra to 66/5 of their second essay on the finish of the day because the hosts took an total lead of 118 on the SCA Stadium in Khandheri.

The 25-year-old Ahmedabad-born Gaja bowled in the fitting areas and was handsomely rewarded for his efforts. His scalps included Harvik Desai (0), Kishan Parmar (0), Avi Barot (1), Vishwaraj Jadeja (6) and first-innings centurion Sheldon Jackson (0) to lowered Saurashtra to 15/5.

But an skilled Arpit Vasavada (23 not out) and Chetan Sakariya (32 not out) stood tall in opposition to the Gujarat bowlers until stumps had been drawn. This was after the hosts, who had posted 304, bundled out Gujarat for 252 of their first essay.

Gujarat was reeling at 155/Eight at one stage of their first innings, however then Rujul Bhatt (71 off 212 balls) and Gaja (61 off 103 balls) joined fingers to bail their aspect out by including 87 runs for the eighth wicket. It was Saurashtra skipper Jaydev Unadkat (3/86), who broke the stand by dismissing Bhatt, caught by Avi Barot. Bhatt’s dismissal paved approach for the hosts to take the first-innings lead.

Earlier within the morning, Saurashtra’s Chirag Jani gave Gujarat a double blow after eradicating in a single day batsman Axar Patel (21) and Roosh Kalaria (0) in fast succession. But a decided Bhatt, who caught six boundaries, stood of their approach. He discovered an ready associate in Gaja, whose knock was laced with six boundaries and 4 hits over the fence.

Gujarat took lunch at 211/8, nonetheless adrift by 93 runs. The duo raised Gujarat’s hopes of taking the first-innings lead earlier than Unadkat broke the stand. Saurashtra must bat deep on the fourth day to put up a aggressive goal for Gujarat.

Brief Scores:

Saurashtra 304 and 66/5 (Chetan Sakariya 32 batting, Chintan Gaja 5/15) v/s Gujarat 252 (Rujul Bhatt 71, Chintan Gaja 61; Jaydev Unadkat 3-86). Saurashtra lead by 118 runs. 

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and keep up to date with the newest headlines

For all the newest Sports News, obtain Indian Express App.

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *