Three Windies players refuse to travel for England series: Report – cricket

There was excellent news for cricket followers because it was introduced that England will host the West Indies for a 3-match Test sequence behind-closed-doorways. The sequence is slated to start from July Eight as cricket returns for the primary time after Covid-19 pandemic had postponed all cricketing actions from March-end. The matches might be held at Hampshire’s Ageas Bowl and Lancashire’s Emirates Old Trafford. These two venues have been chosen as bio-safe venues.

The West Indies squad will arrive within the UK on Tuesday 9 June, travelling to Emirates Old Trafford for quarantining and coaching. This might be their base for a 3-week interval earlier than transferring to the Ageas Bowl for the beginning of the primary Test.

READ | ‘There is no doubt’: Former Pakistan all-rounder accuses Team India of intentionally losing to England in World Cup

However, it was reported that few players from the West Indies staff have refused to travel. All cricket stays suspended since March within the wake of coronavirus pandemic and the England-West Indies sequence is probably going to kickstart the game worldwide.

Cricket West Indies’ (CWI) choice panel on Wednesday named a fourteen (14) man Test squad and checklist of 11 (11) reserves for the proposed tour of England.

CWI in a launch mentioned: “Subject to the ultimate approval of the UK Government, the West Indies will defend the Wisden Trophy in three back-to-back Test matches to be performed behind closed doorways, beginning on July 8. The touring occasion, who will all be examined for COVID-19 this week, are scheduled to fly to England on personal charters on June 8.

“Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer and Keemo Paul all declined the invitation to travel to England for the tour and CWI totally respects their resolution to select to achieve this. As beforehand said, CWI won’t maintain this resolution towards these players when contemplating future choice.

“The two newcomers to the Test squad are center-order batsman Nkrumah Bonner and quick bowler Chemar Holder. The 22-year-previous Holder – who just isn’t associated to captain Jason Holder – was the main quick bowler within the West Indies Championship with 36 wickets in eight matches at 18.91 every, and was one of many profitable ICC U-19 World Cup successful aspect in 2016.

“Bonner, 31, might be making his Test squad debut after being one of many main batsmen within the 2020 West Indies Championship with 523 runs in seven matches at a mean of 58.11. He has beforehand represented the West Indies when he performed two T20 Internationals again in 2011 and 2012.”

England’s three-Test sequence towards West Indies will start on July Eight on the Ageas Bowl, adopted by two Tests at Old Trafford on July 16 and July 24, topic to UK authorities clearance to return behind closed doorways.

READ | ‘We have a great tuning together’: Kuldeep Yadav reveals Virat Kohli’s ‘best quality’

“The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has today (Tuesday) announced that Hampshire’s Ageas Bowl and Lancashire’s Emirates Old Trafford will host England Men’s Test series against West Indies if international cricket returns behind closed doors in July,” the assertion on ECB’s official web site mentioned.

“The West Indies squad will arrive in the UK on Tuesday 9 June, travelling to Emirates Old Trafford for quarantining and training. This will be their base for a three-week period before moving to the Ageas Bowl for the start of the first Test,” it added.

The two venues have been chosen as a result of they’re deemed to be bio-safe due to on-website resorts.

ECB Director of Events, Steve Elworthy — who’s main on English cricket’s bio-safe operational plans — added: “Our predominant goal is to ship a secure surroundings for all stakeholders together with players, match officers, operational workers, important venue workers, broadcasters and media.

“We are in day by day dialogue with authorities and our medical staff, who’ve been extremely supportive throughout this era. These are our proposed dates they usually stay topic to UK Government approval.”

Squad: Jason Holder (Captain), Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich, Chemar Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach.

Reserves: Sunil Ambris, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Keon Harding, Kyle Mayers, Preston McSween, Marquino Mindley, Shane Moseley, Anderson Phillip, Oshane Thomas, Jomel Warrican.

(with IANS inputs)

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *