West Indies announce squad for England Test series, three players opt out
By: Sports Desk |

Updated: June 3, 2020 5:24:13 pm

WI 759 West Indies will play three Tests in England in July. (File Photo)

West Indies have introduced a 15-man squad for the tour of England in July. Three players – Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer and Keemo Paul – have opted out of the tour owing to coronavirus fears, in response to Daily Mail.

This would be the first international series put up the Covid-19 break.

Squad: Jason Holder, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shai Hope, Shane Dowrich, Roston Chase, Shemarh Brooks, Rahkeem Cornwall, Nkrumah Bonner, Alzarri Joseph, Chemar Holder, John Campbell, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach, Jermaine Blackwood and Shannon Gabriel.

West Indies will arrive in England on June 9 and head to Manchester the place they are going to be quarantined and practice for three weeks. The first of the three Tests begins in Southampton on July 8, earlier than the following two Tests start in Manchester on July 16 and Jul 24 respectively.

All three matches can be performed behind closed doorways with no followers, and in a bio-secure setting.

West Indies can even be taking 10 extra players as a part of a reserve group, together with Oshane Thomas and Marquino Mindley.

Earlier, captain Jason Holder had stated he wouldn’t power anybody to tour England.

“I am just glad that we are getting a chance to play cricket again. We are all happy for cricket to return, and the conditions and terms that they proposed sound pretty safe to me, and everybody will be tested, so I am happy with that,” opener John Campbell was quoted as saying by Jamaica Gleaner.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and keep up to date with the newest headlines

For all the newest Sports News, obtain Indian Express App.

© IE Online Media Services Pvt Ltd

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *