Women’s ODI World Cup to have reserve day for semis and final
By: PTI |

Updated: March 11, 2020 12:48:20 pm

India women vs england women, Women T20 world cup semi final, IND W vs ENG W, ENG W vs IND W, Women T20 World Cup final, Sydney Cricket Ground, SCG, Women T20 World Cup semi final washed out, cricket news India went by to the World T20 final after the semi-final towards England was deserted at SCG. (Source: AP Photo)

A harsh lesson learnt after England ladies bowed out of T20 World Cup with out really taking part in the semi-final towards India, the ICC has now allotted a reserve day every for the 2 semi-finals and final of the 2021 ODI version in New Zealand.

The ICC launched the 31-match schedule for the match, beginning February 6 to March 7 in New Zealand with reserve days scheduled for all three knockout matches a day later.

Last week, England had been pressured to make an exit from the T20 Women’s World Cup after their semifinal conflict was washed out leading to India, the higher-ranked facet within the group stage, progressing to the final. The ICC had confronted plenty of flak for not protecting a reserve day of the just lately concluded Women’s T20 World Cup.

The Women’s ODI World Cup shall be performed at six venues, together with Eden Park (Auckland), Bay Oval (Tauranga), Seddon Park (Hamilton), University Oval (Dunedin), Basin Reserve (Wellington) and Hagley Oval (Christchurch).

The iconic Basin Reserve will stage the extremely anticipated Trans-Tasman showdown between New Zealand and Australia on February 13.

Auckland will host the opening sport between the hosts and a qualifying group, the semifinals shall be performed in Tauranga and Hamilton on February March 3 and four respectively with the summit conflict scheduled to happen in Christchurch on March 7.

“It’s a match we absolutely fizz about as players – taking on the Aussies is always a huge thrill. Cricket fans who come along to the Basin Reserve on Saturday the 13th of February will no doubt see a lot of passion from both teams,” New Zealand captain, Sophie Devine stated.

New Zealand, Australia, England and South Africa have already certified for the World Cup. The remaining 4 groups shall be established following the completion of the ICC Women’s Championship and a subsequent qualifying match in Sri Lanka in July.

The eight-team round-robin format will see all groups play one another, with the highest 4 groups qualifying for semi-finals.

Prize cash for the showpiece of ladies’s worldwide cricket will complete NZD 5.5million, and all matches shall be broadcast stay to an enormous world viewers.

“The ICC has made a long-term commitment to elevating women’s cricket as part of our strategy to grow and develop the global game,” ICC CEO, Manu Sawhney stated.

“We are extremely proud of the significant progress we have made in increasing prize money for ICC events over the last few years, with the Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 in New Zealand having NZD5.5 million dollars available in prize money compared to NZD 3.1m in 2017 and NZD316,000 in 2013,” he added.

With the 30-day, 31-match schedule now locked in, ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup CEO Andrea Nelson is worked up to see the nation get behind the occasion.

“Our team is proud to be delivering a tournament where Kiwis across the whole country, in each of our six host cities, can really get involved in what is a truly special event. We can’t wait to see the excitement build around New Zealand as we prepare to roll out the welcome mat for the rest of the world,” Nelson stated.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and keep up to date with the newest headlines

For all the newest Sports News, obtain Indian Express App.

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *