‘World Cup is bigger than Ashes,’ VVS Laxman shocked to not see Rohit in Wisden’s list – cricket

The Wisden whereas naming the Five Cricketers of the Year in 2019 gave India’s ODI deputy Rohit Sharma a miss and it got here as an enormous shock as a result of Rohit hit 5 lots of in the 2019 World Cup and former India batsman V.V.S. Laxman has mentioned the identical, calling the transfer a shocker.

Speaking on Rohit Sharma not that includes in Wisden Cricketers of the Year list, Laxman mentioned on Star Sports present Cricket Connected: “I think anyone who follows the game of cricket will be surprised and shocked not to see Rohit Sharma’s name in those five players list. The Ashes is an important series, the World Cup is bigger than Ashes. And someone who has scored five hundred; remember the first hundred was on a tough wicket in Southampton against South Africa and none of the other batsmen got runs. And he played another important knock against Pakistan. I am really shocked and surprised, and every cricketer will be shocked and surprised by this announcement from Wisden.”

READ | Charlotte Flair- Greatest ever female superstar in WWE, that’s what she said- Exclusive

England’s Ben Stokes and Ellyse Perry of Australia have been on Wednesday named the Leading Cricketers of 2019 by Wisden Almanack.

Stokes turned the primary English cricketer after Andrew Flintoff since 2005 to win the award whereas Perry, the star Australian all-rounder, had gained the award beforehand in 2016 and has thus change into the primary lady to declare the award twice.

Across the 2019 calendar, Stokes hit 821 Test runs at 45, together with an Ashes hundred at Lord’s, and 719 in ODIs at virtually 60.

Perry, however, raised the bar a notch increased, scoring a century (plus 76 not out) in her solely Test, and two extra (each unbeaten) in ODIs, the place she averaged 73. From six T20 worldwide innings, she was dismissed as soon as, averaging 150. On high of that have been 21 one-day wickets at 13 apiece, and 6 in T20s.

READ| Krunal Pandya recalls how former India coach John Wright spotted him and Hardik

Meanwhile, arduous-hitting West Indies all-rounder Andre Russell was named T20 Leading Cricketer of 2019. Last 12 months, Russell took 46 wickets and scored 1,080 runs in T20 matches.

Along with Perry, Wisden named Pat Cummins, Marnus Labuschagne, Jofra Archer and Simon Harmer because the Five Cricketers of the Year.

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *